LinkedIn…to strangers?

So earlier today I met with my school’s internship counselor, who apparently couldn’t help me with anything because I want an internship in New York, not here in the sunshine state.

Her solution to all my problems: LinkedIn. With a great LinkedIn profile, I can hunt down strangers in the writing industry and “ask them to meet for coffee,” which could land me a position somewhere. The only problem is that I live 3 hours away from NYC, where I’m assuming most of those publishing people live, which would make meeting for coffee exceeding difficult.

Can’t I just fill out an application and get an internship in my field that pays $15 an hour like everyone else?

Leave a Reply

