Young Teens and Their Publishing Dreams

Earlier today I was asked to critique a story for a fellow Wattpadder. She said she was getting it published with Simon and Schuster. Of course, she had not sent in her manuscript yet.

Also, she is 14.

After being on Wattpad for 3 years, I’ve come across a lot of young teens, aged 12-17 who think that because their story is a hit on Wattpad, it will be a hit with a major publishing company. They also have no literary agent and don’t know the difference between a hyphen and an em-dash.

Obviously, lots of reads mean a BIG ego. But big enough to think they’ll be accepted she given a contract by a major company? Maybe some kids just have big dreams.

Yet, even when I was 18, already having a publication with Chicken Soup for the Soul, I didn’t think I was ready for the big leagues. My story Hype was #2 in a category of 22,000 stories, picking up a thousand reads a day, and instead I went for self publishing, (which was a failiure as said in an earlier post).

Right now, I’m caught between wondering if these kids just need a reality check, or if the teen audience on Wattpad is responsible for making them think they’re the next Stephanie Meyer because their Harry Styles fanfiction has a million reads.

2 thoughts on “Young Teens and Their Publishing Dreams

  1. I very much agree with you on this. In fact, only recently I had been planning to post something about a publishing guide for teenagers. I’m a teenager myself and I’d be lying if I tell that I had never thought about publishing. I think the entire concept of getting published overwhelms us. On Wattpad, stories with many hits are generally sought out by publishers. But it is only a few who get deals with major publishers.
    In the prospect of getting too many reads and landing a publisher, some writers are forgetting the actual essence of writing. Now, they look at the audience before weaving a story.
    That explains the quality of some top-read books on the site.
    Anyways, I really liked this post. Waiting for the next πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

