The Learning Experiece of Failed Stories

I was chatting with my friends last night about Euphoria, my least popular story. This book was written when I was 18; so far my only fantasy novel. 

From the start I recovered not so good feedback from my fellow Wattpaders. I was surprised that someone like myself, who wrote such good things, was receiving such negative feedback. 

I went back and edited, trying my best to answer the requests of my readers. Still, no luck. After almost 3 years, Euphoria has little reads. 

Sometimes this happens with our works. The best is yet to come, and sometimes the worst does actually happen. In our heads it works out, but as soon as we tell others around us, we get weird looks and silly laughs. 

I noticed that people have difficulties giving up on their stories–I still do. But I’ve come to realize that when I story is beyond repair, it’s a waste of time and energy to keep tinkering with it. 

To this day I still think there is SOME WAY I could change Euphoria so that it made sense. But then I remember that I’m in college and have a new job. 

So, those stories you gave up on or that are too much work to ever fix–don’t worry about it. Take what you’ve learned and use it to further your skills. (I learned that fantasy isn’t my thing.) Everything we write is a learning experience. 

Leave a Reply

