5 Easy Ways to Make Time for Writing

We live in a world where everyone is busy all the time.  We’ve all got places to go, social media accounts to manage.  I’m a college student with a boyfriend, sorority, and now and online job.

With the start of Saving Flight 926, my newest novel, I’ve started making the excuse that I’m “too busy” to write.  Well, that’s partially true.  I am pretty busy, but there are ways to cut out time.  Here are 5 of those ways:

1. Cut the Netflix:

I struggle with getting lost in a show, especially not that my boyfriend lets me use his Netflix.  Try watching just one episode instead of two…or five.

2. Waiting Time

I did this a lot over the summer at my job.  If you have some waiting time before an appointment or class, take out your phone and use a note taker to start a chapter.  You can always email it to yourself later.  I could write entire short stories in-between customers.

3. Travel

I fly from home to school a lot.  Instead of watching a movie for the plane, car, bus, or whatever ride, try taking out your laptop.

4. Stay Away from (a little) Social Media

Things like SnapChat, Facebook, and Yik Yak can be super fun, but sometimes we can spend quite a while reading posts when we could be doing something, well…far more important.

5. Brainstorm During Busy Times

When I was in high school, I’d plan out the details of a chapter while walking down the hall.  It might not work for everyone, but brainstorming beforehand could lead to a lot less staring at computer screens when you get home.

Leave a Reply

