:) Using Emojis :P in Writing D:

I’m sure you must be surprised with that title. I was surprised too, when I started seeing emojis in the text of a story. Yes, this is really happening people. New writers have started putting emojis in their stories. 

The first time I saw this was last year. It looked something like this in the text:

I may be different, but that’s just who I am. 🙂 

Are you scared yet? Because it only gets worse. Lately I’ve been seeing winky faces in stories as well. 

Now of course, who could forget the beloved TTYL series, which involved similar things? Of course, there are exceptions. 

If characters are texting, IMing, emailing, or posting a status, then of course, pile on the emojis if you want. 

But in the actual text of the story? Just no. I’m really hoping that this doesn’t become an “ok” or norm in the writing word. I don’t think I could ever take a story seriously with smiles and winky faces in the middle of a paragraph. 

Leave a Reply

