Torn Between Two Paths

With the start of school, sorority recruitment, and all that senior jazz, I’m happy to say that I’ll be trying to post more often.  So, here’s the topic for today: what do you do when it comes to new books and old books that differ in potential and popularity?  What if you’re in my situation: currently writing a book that isn’t going anywhere, but want to being the publishing process of another, more popular book?

Ask yourself these 5 questions:

1. How much is left? 

This one is quite simple.  How much is left of the book you’re currently working on?  Is it just a few chapters?  Are you at the climax?  Or are you only a few chapters away from the end, but have writers block like I do?

2. Can you focus while having an unfinished book? 

I’m a stickler when it comes to finishing books.  I still lie awake at night thinking about finishing my novel “Runaways” that I started when I was 13. I know that I won’t be able to focus on Knowing You’re There with SF926 not being done.  I’ll keep going back to it.

3. Do I have the time? 

I’ve never been through the traditional publishing route.  Only self publishing, which as many of you know, was probably my biggest disaster ever.  Traditional publishing takes up a lot of time that working on a rough draft for fun doesn’t.

4. What will the benefits of finishing be? 

For me, finishing the horrible first draft of SF926 will mean just that to me: the piece of mind.  Knowing that I finished it, whether I go back to it and try to do anything with it at all.  If you don’t see any reason to finish that first draft right now, then don’t bother.

5. Am I really ready to start this process? 

I’ve been wanting to be traditionally published since I was 13, and even more so when I finished my first book at 16.  Self publishing was hard.  I didn’t have the support of family or friends, I didn’t know a lot about grammar or how to edit.  Now I have a sorority full of willing beta readers and feel like I can catch any grammar mistake.

Do you have support from people around you?  Are you willing to have your story ripped apart by critiques?  Are you willing to stay up late into the night rewriting and editing?  If so, then you’re most likely ready to publish.

Side note:

By reading the above, yes, this is my announcement that I will soon be beginning the process to traditionally publish my YA romance novel Knowing You’re There.  I have no idea what I’m doing and will be posting updates along the way.  I look forward to sharing this journey with you all.

Leave a Reply

