Necessary, Fluff, or Necessary Fluff?

Today I began my 3rd day of edits on my novella Knowing You’re There.  In case you have not seen my 3 previous posts, I am currently in the process of editing it for publication and found out that my word count was extremely, extremely lacking. About 22,000 short of 50k, the minimum for YA novels.

Anyway, today I started editing chapter 3, and I am pleased to say that the word count has officially moved up to 29k! (whoopee!) While a 500-word extension is great progress, there is one important question in mind: is what I’m adding just fluff?

I think any author would consider every part of their story to be important, unless it’s something extreme. Today I added better transitions into new scenes. Instead of just saying “two days later…” I put a few sentences about what happened each day.  I would kind of just call this “necessary fluff”. The events weren’t super important, but they were necessary to make a better transition to the next scene…right?

So, with that, I have created 3 definitions to separate the additions that writers may want to include in their work:

Fluff: not needed. Excess details, information that serves no purpose.

Necessary Information: character development, moves the plot along, shows the reader something that they need to know.

Necessary Fluff: extends the word count of the story, but also offers slight character development and more specifics.

And there you have it.  Stay toned for more updates as I tackle chapter 4 tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

