The Best Mistake I’ve Ever Made

This morning, I sat down at my desk to begin edits on chapter 5 of my novel (not novella any more!) Knowing You’re There to get it ready for publication.  As I read the first few lines, I decided to scroll down to the last page because I forget how many chapters I had. That’s when the biggest revelation in this whole process hit me. In the document, I only had 18 chapters. When I checked on Wattpad, that wasn’t the case.

I had forgotten to save the last NINE CHAPTERS on my flash drive! This was obviously the reason why my story was so incredibly short. So I did what any other thrilled mistaken author would do: I copied and pasted everything into the document on my computer. After feeling hopeless about my 29,000 word story, this event has breathed new life into the process. In total, KYT actually has 43,000 words. Mind. Blown.

So what does this mean for the future?

Well, seeing as how I’m not up to my hopeful goal of 50k (which I’d really like to be 60 or 65k now) there is still a lot of work to do. Thankfully, I only have to extend the story by 10k or 12k instead of 20.

Since it is much longer, this means that it will take me loner to edit. But there’s no rush. I wanted to have the book sent out to publishers in May when I graduate.

So if anyone needs me, I’ll be running around campus celebrating and doing happy dances in my room. I couldn’t be more thrilled about what happened today.

Leave a Reply

