Tips for Getting a Writing Internship

I’m going to sway away from talking about edits and publishing progress to share a new experience that I had yesterday. As many of you know, I was extremely heartbroken to find out that the internship I worked so hard to get in January for the website University Primetime was a total scam.

Since then I had given up, then started trying again to find a new internship. I looked at websites again, but everything was “virtual” or solely online. I just can’t trust a place that doesn’t have an actual office. So I took a leap of faith and ironed my old blazer, fixed up my resume, and went to my school’s official internship fair. I knew that in between all the banks and logistics companies, someone, somewhere, had to need a writer/editor/journalist. So while I was there, here are a few things I learned.

1. Sell Yourself

Dressing up and bringing a resume are just part of it. Shake hands, introduce yourself, make eye contact. Talk a little bit about what’s on your resume.

2. Show a Variety of Skills

Writers don’t just write fiction or poetry. While in some areas we’re stronger than others, we can do a lot of things. We can copy edit our work, we’re vigilant readers, we most likely have a blog, and for college students, having to hand in a portfolio at the end of the semester for nearly every class makes us killer organizers.

3. Don’t Downplay Your Acomplishments

Even if you weren’t published in print or don’t have thousands of followers on social media, it never hurts to talk about a finished novel or that book you edited for a Wattpad user. Companies will like that you’re passionate and determined about something.

4. You Don’t Have to be an Ad/PR Major to Advertise

This was probably the most important thing that I learned yesterday. If a company says they need someone in advertising, that doesn’t necessarily mean that you need to shoot and edit a commercial or design a billboard logo. Many, many companies have social media that needs managing, blogs to update, and events/products that need to be advertised.

All of us want to make it to the big leagues. We all start small. In my opinion, writers are the absolute BEST people for advertising, because we do it all the time! We know all about compelling people to read and buy our works. We have blogs and tons of other social media accounts, where we post about our books whenever we get the chance. We’re social media gurus.

So if a company says they’re looking for someone to advertise, don’t forget to tell them all the experience you have with social media!

Best of luck to all you other hopeful writing interns out there.

Leave a Reply

