The Dos and Don’ts of Distractions 

This week while trying to painstakingly finish a rewrite, I’ve been having  the hardest time with distractions. So if you’re a writer who needs to get stuff done, here are some things you should and shouldn’t do when it comes to taking your mind off of your work. 

Do: Take a Break

Breaks are always good when you’re tired or frustrated from writer’s block. Some time away from your computer screen is a great way to recharge. 

Don’t: Take a Break that Lasts All Night

This happens to me almost every day. I come home from work, grab a snack, and find myself doing other things while I should be writing. 

Do: Set Aside Time for Writing 

What I’ve been trying to do is tell myself that I have to finish a chapter a day. If you have particularly long chapters, set aside an hour a night. 

Leave a Reply

